Congratulations to the 2015/2016 CHILL Woodstock High School Team

A huge congratulations to players and parents of the 1A State Champion CHILL Woodstock High School team.  Coaches Matt Hackett and Jim McDonald started the team back in August 2015 to compete in the GHRA, Georgia High School Roller Hockey Association.  Teams compete from Georgia high schools in a 14 game regular season that spans from September to January.  The team had great senior leadership from captain Ryan Durkee, assistant captain Austin Clarke and Niko Trumbauer.  The team was comprised of 3 seniors, 1 junior, 3 sophomores, 6 freshman and 1 eighth grader. 

The Woodstock team finished the regular season with a 10-4 record, scored 61 goals, had 55 assists and had a GHRA historical record of fewest penalty minutes for any team at just 16 minutes over those 14 games.  The Woodstock team was awarded a trophy for finishing the regular season as division champions.  They were also awarded the Doug Russell Sportsmanship Award for fewest penalty minutes.  Woodstock had 5 players and coaches named to the All-Star team.

The season culminated in the end of season state tournament.  The tournament was held in Snellville, GA at the SGAA rink on January 30, 2016.  Woodstock was seeded first and would play the 4th seeded Loganville in the first round.  Goalie Parker Eberly recorded his first team shutout with a 4-0 win.  In the second round, the team would face McDonough who was coming off their own 4-0 win in the first round.  The game came down to a triple over time goal by Woodstock to propel them into the Finals where they would face the Lambert Bulldogs. In a dominating performance, Woodstock won 7-5 and was named GHRA Division 1A State Champions!!